Facebook: Making it easier for users’ to find their privacy tools

Facebook Privacy Settings

Have you not upgraded your website to HTTPS yet? Upgrade NOW.

Google with its Chrome 68 update to show all HTTP websites as NOT SECURE. Avoid Google's penalty by installing an SSL Certificate. Get a DigiCert Standard SSL and secure your website at just $157/year. BUY NOW

ADVERTISEMENT
DAILY BRIEF
Get daily updates straight in your inbox.

The global outcry faced by Facebook last week helped them understand the much work still left for them to do “to enforce our policies and help understand how Facebook works”. On Wednesday Facebook announced “It’s time to make our privacy tools easier to find,” it is giving its users more control over Facebook privacy settings by making data management easier and redesigning the settings menu. The changes are unlikely to satisfy critics who want major reforms in the way the social media giant handles the data of its more than 2 billion users.

The new changes include:

Tools easier to find on mobile devices

Facebook has redesigned their entire setting menu on mobile devices so to make things easier to find from a single place. The outdated settings are also “cleaned up” to make it clear “what information can and can’t be shared with apps.”

Privacy shortcuts menu

To make it easier to find information about privacy, security, and ads the new Privacy Shortcut menu has been formed to control your data with a clearer explanation. Facebook is trying to make it clearer, visual and easy-to-find.

From this menu, you can secure your account by adding two-factor authentication for protection. By doing this confirmation will be asked by Facebook to you, if anyone tries to log into your account from a device that Facebook doesn’t recognize. It also allows users to control personal information; users can review and delete their posts, friend request, posts that are shared and reacted if they want to. Facebook has now made it much easier for users to manage who can see your posts and information provided by you on your profile.

Download and delete Facebook data

Now Facebook allows you to delete information that you’ve shared in the past by introducing ‘Access Your Information’. A secure way to manage information, like posts, reactions, and even things that have been searched, anything can be deleted from the timeline and profile. With its new easier Facebook privacy tools you can even download the data that is shared with Facebook. The data includes photos, contacts, even posts on your timeline, and more. 

Facebook confirms their responsibility regarding the data that are shared by the users and also to come up with more updates “we’ll have more to share…including updates on the measures Mark shared last week.”

Source: Facebook

Facebook: Making it easier for users’ to find their privacy tools