New rules for WhatsApp’s ‘Delete For Everyone’ feature

WhatsApp Delete for Everyone

The most sought-after feature by WhatsApp ‘delete for everyone’ was launched last year which was welcomed by everyone. It is a common mistake to send a message to the wrong recipient and to overcome this problem; WhatsApp Delete for Everyone feature lets you delete your embarrassing texts within 1 hour, 8 minute and 16 seconds.

Now, WhatsApp is making an important change to the feature which is aimed at users who bypassed the time limit on revoking messages. WABetainfo reports that WhatsApp’s latest beta version for Android has a modified recipient limit. This means users cannot delete a message for everyone if the recipient does not receive the revoke request in 13 hours, 8 minutes and 16 seconds.

This can happen if the receiver’s mobile is switched off so whenever he will switch on the mobile he will get your embarrassing message as he wouldn’t have received the revoke request.

The website confirms that such a change was needed in order to prevent some users from bypassing the feature to delete messages sent weeks and even years ago. As it adds that you can still delete a “message for everyone within 1h, 8m, 16s as long as the recipient will receive your revoke request within 13h, 8m, and 16s.”

New rules for WhatsApp’s ‘Delete For Everyone’ feature