WhatsApp is a popular messaging platform used by billions of people worldwide. As the number of users is growing rapidly over the platform, the company is also straightening its rules and refreshing them on a daily basis.
Recently the support got flooded with complaints on massive user account blocking. In response to which the users got an automated message that they had violated the company rules, therefore, their account was banned permanently.
Apparently, WhatsApp is blocking groups with a suspicious or malicious name along with its members and they are banned permanently from using their account on the messaging platform. The app is already banning 2 million such ‘suspicious’ accounts every month and will continue to do so.
The app is taking such big steps to stop the abuse; however, this may seem aggressive to many as it leaves no choice for the users. People who are not involved in any groups with suspicious names need not worry over their accounts on WhatsApp.
Here are some conditions of WhatsApp on which your accounts can be blocked:
- Blocking at registration: Your account can be blocked at registration if your phone number has been recently abused or if the computer network used for registration has been associated with any kind of suspicious behavior.
- Blocking at messaging: If you try sending 100 messages in 15 seconds within five minutes of registration, your account will be blocked by the authorities.
- Blocking on the basis of negative feedback: If your account has a certain number of blocks or report then WhatsApp may block your account.
- Blocking if involved with any ‘suspicious’ groups: If your account is involved in a group with suspicious names and activities then your account can be blocked along with the other members of the group.
Users have posted on various platforms complaining against WhatsApp’s new policy. Blocked users cannot use their accounts anymore. The only way to again use WhatsApp is to register a new account with a new phone number. The WhatsApp authorities have not yet clarified the matter with an official statement but it is quite noticeable that only people involved with any suspicious account or group are getting banned from using the messaging platform.
However, along with this, WhatsApp also lets you decide who can add you to the group with the new ‘invite’ feature. This privacy gives you three options – Everyone, My Contacts, or My Contacts except. You can choose any one option accordingly.