WhatsApp’s new privacy policy makes Facebook data sharing mandatory

Author at TechGenyz Apps
WhatsApp Privacy Feature
A Business Women using whatsapp app in Mobile | Image credit: thanyakij-12/Freepik

WhatsApp has updated its privacy policy to better accommodate other services offered by Facebook. The new updated privacy policy crawled in almost silently this week. Both Android and iPhone users have been informed of the new policy through an app notice using which the users can directly agree to the new policy.

The new policy details how the app collects and handles user data. A new section regarding the information about Transaction and Payments Data and Location Information of the users has also been added which pertains to the precise data collection by the app. WhatsApp has also included specific information on business interactions taking place through its messaging app.

However, the most shocking change that the new policy exhibits pertain to how WhatsApp shares information with Facebook and other services offered by the same.

“The information we share with the other Facebook Companies include your account registration information (such as your phone number), transaction data, service-related information, information on how you interact with others (including businesses) when using our Services, mobile device information, your IP address, and may include other information identified in the Privacy Policy section entitled ‘Information We Collect’ or obtained upon notice to you or based on your consent,”

WhatsApp noted in a dedicated FAQ section detailing the information it shares with Facebook’s companies.

Previously, the existing WhatsApp users were provided with the option to choose not to share their WhatsApp information with or on Facebook. This has changed completely with the rollout of the new privacy policy and terms of service. The WhatsApp users have been stripped of this option and left with only one alternative.

Apparently, the updates privacy policy and terms of service will be effective on February 8, 2021. Users will have to either accept the new updates to continue using the app, refusing which their access to the messaging app will be barred.