WhatsApp has rolled out a new feature called ‘View Once’, that deletes photos and videos from the chat after they have been opened, giving users, even more, control over their privacy.

For added privacy, you can now send photos and videos that disappear from your WhatsApp chat after the recipient has opened them once.

“Media will not be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery. Once you send a view once photo or video, you won’t be able to view it again,” – WhatsApp

The feature has been rolled out to everyone starting this week, and WhatsApp is looking forward to “feedback on this new way to send private and disappearing media”.

For example, you might send a View Once photo of some new clothes you’re trying on at a store, a quick reaction to a moment in time, or something sensitive like a Wi-Fi password.

“As with all the personal messages you send on WhatsApp, View Once media is protected by end-to-end encryption so WhatsApp cannot see them,” the company said.

They will also be clearly marked with a new “one-time” icon.

After the media has been viewed, the message will appear as “opened” to avoid any confusion about what was happening in the chat at the time.

You can’t forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with the view once media is enabled.

Sign up for Newsletters

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss an update on the latest tech, gaming, startup, how to guide, deals and more.

Showcase your brand this holiday season

Place your brand on TechGenyz with sponsored content, display ad, newsletter, product review, and more that will give more trust to your prospects, boost website traffic and increase conversions. Avail discount up to 55%. Join thousands of businesses and start growing your business.

Claim the Offer