Chinese, Rwandan and Spanish scientists top the 2022 UNESCO World Outstanding Female Scientist Award

Must Read

Yusuf Balogun
Yusuf Balogun
Yusuf is an aspiring Journalist and Health law expert with a special focus on technology innovations. He is a guest writer at Qwenu and Deputy Editor-in-chief of Gamji Press.

HU Hailan, a professor at the Zhejiang University School of Brain Science and Brain Medicine and director of the MOE Frontier Center of Brain Science and Brain-machine Integration, has been awarded as the World’s Most Outstanding Female Scientist.

HU Hailan was awarded along with four other female scientists from Rwanda, Spani, and other countries at the 2022 “World Outstanding Women Scientists Award” ceremony held yesterday, 23rd of June, at the UNESCO headquarters in Paris, France.

The other four scientists honored with the 2022 World Outstanding Women Scientist Award are Maria Guzman, a Cuban infectious disease scientist, Katarin Kaurico, a Hungarian-American biochemist, Agnès Vinaguajo, a Rwandan public health expert, and Angela Nieto, a Spanish embryologist.

According to the international community, UNESCO, Hu Hailan bags the award due to her major discoveries in neuroscience and contributions to the development of a new generation of antidepressant drugs.

In her reaction, the awardee said the World Outstanding Women Scientists Award reflects UNESCO’s mission and hopes that more young women will learn about science and love through this award to heighten women scientists.

For years, Hailan Hu has been dedicated to exploring the neural coding and control mechanisms of social behavior and emotion, particularly in fundamental and translational depression research, and has achieved creative and systematic results: she and her team found the winning effect in social competition.

Meanwhile, UNESCO had invited ten award winners from 2020 and 2021 to come and receive their awards, as no offline award ceremonies were held throughout these two years due to the Coronavirus pandemic.

During the award ceremony, UNESCO Director-General Audrey Azoulay stated that the world needs science, and science needs women. Science must be more and more accessible to women, beginning at critical junctures in schooling and professions.

In 1998, UNESCO and the French L’Oréal Group founded the World Outstanding Female Scientist Award. It is given yearly to five female scientists from all continents who have made remarkable contributions to scientific development, to recognize and support their research careers. Follow TechGenyz for the more latest news.

Stay updated

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss an update on the latest tech, gaming, startup, how to guide, deals and more.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Grow Your Business

Place your brand in front of tech-savvy audience. Partner with us to build brand awareness, increase website traffic, generate qualified leads, and grow your business.


- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -