WhatsApp to Roll Out Screenshot Blocking for View Once Images With Other Two Privacy Features Soon

Must Read

Yusuf Balogun
Yusuf Balogun
Yusuf is an aspiring Journalist and Health law expert with a special focus on technology innovations. He is a writer at Right for Education, Libertist Centre for Education, Qwenu, and Editor at Gamji Press, UDUS.

Over the years, WhatsApp has been known for its dedication to ensuring user comfort by introducing user-friendly features to improve their experience. In maintaining this stand, the firm is pleased to announce three major privacy features for its users. They include silently leaving group chats, hiding online status, and blocking all users from taking screenshots of an image that has been shared under the view once option.

Mark Zuckerberg, the founder, and CEO of WhatsApp’s parent organization Meta, recently announced three new privacy features for the popular messaging platform. 

Screenshot Blocking

Back in August last year, WhatsApp rolled out a new “View Once” feature that allowed users to share disappearing media on the platform. However, during its debut, it did not include screenshot blocking. Thus, users had the option of snapping a quick screenshot to save the vanishing material on their phones.

Also Read

As a result, the feature was useless. The social media platform is now developing screenshot blocking for View Once messages and a few other privacy measures to address this obvious problem. Blocking screenshots for View Once messages are received, recipients will effectively be prevented from capturing a screenshot of media that is about to disappear, making the feature finally useful. It is being tested right now and will soon be available to all users.

Silently Exit Group Chats

Similarly, WhatsApp has been working on a feature that would allow users to hide their online status for a while. Users can utilize this functionality to quietly exit a group. As a result, the platform will no longer provide a notification when a particular user leaves a chat. Notably, only group administrators will be informed if a member exits a group.

Hiding Online Status

Hide your online status as the third feature. Users will be able to control who can view their WhatsApp online status. Users will have the same privacy options for Status, Last Seen, and Profile Picture for their online status, including Contacts, Everyone, and Nobody. Users of WhatsApp will be able to keep their active status hidden from other users of the app.

Meanwhile, along with these three new privacy capabilities, WhatsApp has also launched a new campaign to inform users of the features and its ongoing dedication to safeguarding users’ private conversations. All three of these improvements are anticipated to become official for users later this month. Follow TechGenyz for more updates.

Stay updated

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss an update on the latest tech, gaming, startup, how to guide, deals and more.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Grow Your Business

Place your brand in front of tech-savvy audience. Partner with us to build brand awareness, increase website traffic, generate qualified leads, and grow your business.

Latest

- Advertisement -

Related

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -