Round up of Indian Premier League 2019 final and awards

Join the Opinion Leaders Network

Join the Opinion Leaders Network today and become part of a vibrant community of change-makers. Together, we can create a brighter future by shaping opinions, driving conversations, and transforming ideas into reality.

Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings, winning the 2019 Indian Premier League title in a dramatic final. The one-run win had fans on both sides holding their breath. Mumbai Indians won with 149/8 restricting Chennai Super Kings to 148/7.

Being somewhat chaotic, the Final was not a straightforward cricket match. Until the very end, the sportsbooks, fans and cricket bettors alike were unsure which of the top two IPL teams would win. Winning the 2019 IPL gave Mumbai Indians their fourth IPL title.

There were a few important points that kept Mumbai Indians in the running. Notably, Kieron Pollard’s batting helped carry Mumbai through the game. He ended on 41 not out. Towards the end of the match, Sri Lankan bowler, Lasith Malinga, conceded 42 runs in the first three overs. However, there was a change in the final over.

Chennai Super Kings needed just nine runs for a win. In the final over, Malinga conceded only seven runs. He bowled Yorkers that left Chennai Super Kings needing two runs off of the last ball. Malinga bowled slower ball that resulted in the Mumbai Indians ending with a one-run win.

Shane Watson worked hard for Chennai Super Kings, reach 80 runs before he was run out by Krundal Pandya. Faf du Plessis opened with 26 runs and Dwayne Bravo added 15 runs to the total. Ishan Kishan ran out MS Dhoni after only two runs.

All in all, this was a very exciting end to the 2019 IPL. Congratulations to Mumbai Indians’ skipper, Rohit Sharma, and his team!

2019 IPL Awards

Man of the Final – This award went to Jasprit Bumrah for his outstanding bowling. Bumrah, happy to accept the award, said he remained calm and focused on bowling each ball. He won the award for his 4-0-14-2.

Emerging Player of the Year – This award went to 19-year-old Shubman Gill who appears to have a bright cricketing future ahead.

Orange Cap – The Orange Cap, awarded for the most runs throughout the IPL went to David Warner. The Australian player reached 692 runs playing for Hyderabad this year. Warner had noted that players do not play for awards.

Purple Cap – This award goes to the player who took the most wickets throughout the IPL 2019. Imran Tahir took 26 wickets during the IPL. The 40-year-old cricketer played for Chennai Super Kings and appreciates the opportunities the team gives him. Tahir notes that age is just a number, and he hopes to continue playing cricket for some time.

Most Valuable Player – This award went to Hardik Russell who played for the Kolkata Knight Riders. Russell ended the IPL with the most player points with a total of 369. His stats show 11 wickets, 61 dots, 31 fours, 52 sixes, and four catches.

What’s Next?

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 begins on 30th May with a match between England and South Africa. India’s first match is against South Africa on 5th June 2019. At this time, bet365 shows odds of India winning outright at 3.75, with South Africa’s odds at 11.00.

Join 10,000+ Fellow Readers

Get Techgenyz’s roundup delivered to your inbox curated with the most important for you that keeps you updated about the future tech, mobile, space, gaming, business and more.

Disclaimer: We may earn a commission if you make any purchase by clicking our links. Please see our detailed guide here.

Follow us on:

Google News


Partner With Us

Digital advertising offers a way for your business to reach out and make much-needed connections with your audience in a meaningful way. Advertising on Techgenyz will help you build brand awareness, increase website traffic, generate qualified leads, and grow your business.

Power Your Business

Solutions you need to super charge your business and drive growth

More from this topic